I have everything I prayed for, it just came at different times.

When I was a little girl, I lived in absolute poverty. There was so many things I didn’t have. There was the feeling of being loved, at a minimum, but there wasn’t much else.

One day a really traumatic event happened that put my Mother and myself in danger. I remember being so scared and I just started praying. That is officially when I started having a personal chat line with God. I was no more than 9 or 10 years old, but I was praying.

We made it home safely. I remember crying because I was relieved, but the trauma stayed with me my entire life. So I prayed a LOT.

I prayed for the emotional abuse dole’d out by my Mother to stop. I prayed for a house to live in, instead of the various apartment we constantly lived in. I prayed for the space to be free and be happy. I prayed for educational success. I also prayed that the vile, ghetto-ass dysfunctional kids would stop picking fights with me. I remember praying that I would get married and have a child. I prayed for travel and to see the world. After my Dad died my junior year of high school, I prayed for peace and to manage my anger. Then when my Mother died, I prayed to stop crying. I prayed A LOT. Understatement of the year.

And my prayers were answered, but um… maybe not in the nonsensical order and unrealistic timeline I had ingrained in my mind.

The emotional abuse stopped because I left home after high school and only went back once. My Mother and I reconciled our rocky relationship right before my 21st birthday. Then two weeks later she died in a fire.

I had a great educational journey. University was hard, even after the death of my parents, I finished school. I would go on to have a great career in the early days after graduation. This would lead me to move to New York, where I was free. I didn’t have to be strangulated by the colorism, racism, classism and mediocrity I felt in Chicago. I was free to be weird, smart, a party girl, a wild raver, reflective, creative … I was free in New York. I would eventually start travelling and seeing the world. All the beautiful places I wanted to see in the world, I went with no hesitation.

I left New York City on Valentine’s day 2003. I followed my British ex-husband to England. I found myself in a beautiful cozy English house. He made me feel loved and welcomed, but I was so far away from home and I was scared. Eventually, things would shift. We married. We moved back to the States and bought / remodeled / sold our first house together. Then we built his dream home from the ground up. It was his dream house. I loved him so much, I just wanted to see him happy. Our marriage was failing. I was scared, but we were a great team. So when we built things together, they were magnificent. I tried to carry the marriage. We had a beautiful child. And it all fell apart. So I eventually did get to live in a beautiful house, at one time I felt loved, and I gave birth to my miracle baby.

So now in 2020, I look back and realized that God / Universe did answer all my prayers. I still pray daily. I pray over my child. I pray for my dogs. I pray that I meet my grandkids.

But those prayers from my youth, they were all answered.

Living with Sarcoidosis means I am always fighting to get better and I pray even more. It also means I am humbled that I wake up everyday. I now just want peace. Stress is a trigger for flare ups for me. So I pray for peace daily. I wake up thankful. I have a home. I have a wonderful, kind child. I have two loving, comical dogs. A Hulu and Netflix subscription. A house full of AI technology. Lastly, my house is filled with happiness and kindness.

God / Universe looked out for me and they still cover me. It didn’t all come together how I thought it would, but my heart is full and grateful for small mercies.

Amen.

2 responses to “I have everything I prayed for, it just came at different times.”

  1. I’m working on the gratitude so that it’s not coming from a place of “it could have been worse” which was used as a measurement of the abuse I endured as a child. I’m so very grateful that you continue to share your truths, your story, your soul journey and THE Future CEO with those of us who need and want to learn that we are not alone. Love, Peace, Blessings and Favor upon your and your house forevermore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so happy you are here and our friendship is part of my journey. Sending you at lot of Love, Light, Peace, Joy and Abundance in perpetuity.

      Like