My greatest accomplishment? Surviving

10671352_10152712707449643_590994909531801750_n

I was asked today… “What is your greatest accomplishment?” I replied, besides Blessing the gene pool with an excellent specimen of human engineering and good stock (aka my wonderful procreate!!!) … my finest accomplishment would be breaking every stereotype American society could possibly levy on me as a little Black girl from the south side of Chicago and surviving the often non-intentional marginalization from friends, family and coworkers that plays into the environment of hyper-segregation in Chicago. Growing up and soaring above all expectations to live a life unchartered and untethered to America’s negative narrative for Black American women is by far my greatest achievement. I live life out loud and magnificently…

…and I ain’t done yet.

Xoxoxxoxo

PS
They probably don’t want to ask me anymore questions for a while. #Wink

#MommyFab
#EfabulousHB
#FabWorld
#African-AmericanBloggers

 

11 thoughts on “My greatest accomplishment? Surviving

  1. Anya says:

    What a lovely post – and inspirational. I’m trying to get into the habit of saying when I wake up in the morning. “Thank goodness for that I’m still alive.” It makes a huge difference to the rest of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • efabuloushb says:

      Unfortunately, as a Mother of Color in America, I now have to be ready to accept that we (as a nation) are not ready to have insightful conversations about privilege. I accept the fact that I have to raise my child with a global mindset and tenacity to be “great” no matter what. But I do like when people ask me those questions because it allows me to strip away the stereotypes and give them a very authentic look at Black humanity without the media’s tainted filter.

      Like

  2. Christina Aliperti says:

    I love this! I agree that this nation is not ready for those conversations. It’s sad to me that some people refuse to even acknowledge their privilege and would rather act as if it just doesn’t exist.

    Like

  3. diadarling3 says:

    Heck yes lady! I feel like so many people look at me and automatically assume things, “southern independent black woman” she probably is bitter, jaded, has multiple baby daddys, works as someone’s secretary…whatever their expectation for someone who looks like me may be. I have risen above those expectations, I have no problem saying I’m one of the hardest worker I know. I love your answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • efabuloushb says:

      We live in an age where our #BlackGirlMagic and #GirlPower has to be demonstrated just to get the benefit of the doubt. My Dad taught me to strive for excellence. He said no matter what -ism a person is holding on to… True Excellence can never be denied.

      Thanks for your comment and keep slaying them with your Brilliance!!!!

      Like

Comments are closed.